Showing posts with label SQPN. Show all posts
Showing posts with label SQPN. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

CNMC 2015 - Affirmation & Friendship. And apparently tears...

Wow. I don't even know where to begin. Well, I'm BACK, there's that, and I had a fantastic time. It was, gosh. It was wonderful. I met so many kind people, and I received so much inspiration from my time there. But I have no idea how to fully encapsulate the depth of my experience. I think what I'm going to do is this: I'm going to chronicle my time in Atlanta chronologically to the best of my ability. At the end, I'm including a short video that I recorded this morning. I'm going to warn you - I cry during it. A LOT. :0 It's a pretty vulnerable piece. But I'm putting it out there because it's genuine emotion and I don't see sharing that with you as a bad thing at all. So here we go!

I arrived in Atlanta on Saturday all hyped up on coffee and adrenaline. I didn't even need any alcohol on my flight, which is a pretty surprising thing right there, given my feelings about flying. ;-) I met up with my lovely roommate Sarah, and we dropped our stuff at the hotel before making a beeline for the Georgia International Convention Center, and the SQPN booth set up in the Exhibit Hall as part of the Eucharistic Congress taking place there this weekend as well:

We immediately began our socialization efforts, and I spent the weekend forcing people to take ridiculous selfies with me, like this one:

That would be Fr. Cory Sticha (@FrCorySticha), Fr. Darryl Millette (@frdarryl), and Sarah (@mssarahkp).
There are a bunch more of my photos on my Twitter timeline if you want to take a peek, and a special Tagboard for the conference with all of the mentions compiled in one spot using the hashtag #CNMC15. Sweet, right? 

From that point on, I took stock of my personality: reserved, quiet, can be kind of a dud. What I wanted from this weekend was: fun! frivolity! fantastic! So I made the decision to really push myself to be as social as possible. I wanted to meet people, and I wanted to enjoy their company. This means that I would have to TALK to them. That doesn't necessarily come naturally to me, so my social switch had to be set to: "MEGAWATT!" Annndddddd...I think it worked. :)

I met a LOT of people. Wonderful, funny, kind people. Saturday before dinner I hung out in the hotel bar and introduced myself to people. I forced them to take yet more choppy photos with me:

Dee Fox from "Catholic Vitamins!" And Stephanie Zimmer (@angelsteph), and Marika (@oneeyedsmiley)
Over drinks, yay! with Allison Gingras (@reconciledtoyou)
We then went to dinner Saturday night to commemorate the 10th Jubilee anniversary of SQPN. I forced my camera on people again:

...and it was rather an emotional night. That is a theme, right there. ;-) During his short speech at dinner, Greg Willits (one of the founders of SQPN) made me tear up. The problem with my sensitive personality is that I very much absorb the emotional reactions of others and feel them keenly. Then I desperately want to soothe them and make them feel better. So when I see someone else cry, I get all:

*gulp!* "You are crying?! NOW I AM CRYING! We are crying together!! Is this making you feel any better, I can't imagine that it would?! How do we stop now??"

So that happened. Twice. But it was a lovely night and I talked to a TON of great people. I was so tired by the end of the night (early flight + Megawatt Social Tiffany = exhaustion) I could hardly keep my eyes open. And then I didn't even sleep all that well, because I am freakish and never sleep well when I'm away from home. And hello, MASS AT 8 AM! How nice to see you. ;-) So I was tired the next day too.

However, it was so worth it. Mass, conference sessions, more socializing and networking. I taught Stephanie how to knit socks during lunch, because isn't that what everyone aspires to do, knit during conferences? If you don't, then you don't know what you're missing. ;-)

I learned some things about recording audio, and about writing, and about team building. Greg Willits made me cry again, and so did Lisa Hendey, and Fr. Roderick's video keynote speech.

Two of the guilty tear-inducing parties featured in this hilarious photo
I learned a lot. But more importantly, I learned FROM the people that I met. The people who absolutely touched my heart and made me feel welcome and included.

Sunday evening I went to dinner with a bunch of my new friends. And then had drinks in the hotel bar with some others, one of whom is an absolute dear friend, Capt. Jeff:


...and he is also one of my *very* favorite SQPNer's, but SHHHH! Don't tell him. ;-)

By the end of the night, I was absolutely exhausted, but at the same time couldn't have been more content. Good things are coming from this, I just know it. And the friendships that were cultivated just make me smile every time I think back on our time together.

Whenever I come back from an event like this, I feel blue. I was so glad to get home to my family, but I miss the fellowship with my friends, and I don't know when I'll see them in person again. But I hold on to the warm feelings, and the prayers, and all of the support that I'll continue to get from them online, deep in my heart.

And so, this morning, I recorded this video. To say thank you. If you were there with me at the CNMC, I'm speaking directly to you. If you weren't, but read this blog, I'm speaking to you too. We are all a community in the Body of Christ, and you all matter to me. So much. I'm going to warn you that I cry in this video. Quite a bit. :0 So if emotional things like that bother you, skip this one. But I hope you'll watch it. Because we're all in this journey of life together, good times and bad, joy and sorrow. There's no sorrow coming out of this weekend, only joy, but sometimes joy causes tears too.


So. What did you think? Got any new ideas regarding ministry and evangelization, collaboration and creativity? I hope you'll write to me. *hug*

Thursday, June 4, 2015

Tea Time with Tiffany Episode 3 - New media & a sense of community!

Hi all, it's that time again!


Today I'm talking about community of the new media variety - so blogs, podcasts, friendships via social media, all that good stuff. My own initiation into this sphere was via SQPN and Catholic podcasts, so I talk about that, as well as my amusement-inducing first experience at a Catholic New Media Conference, and how I'm headed to my second installment this weekend! Join me!


Links mentioned in this week's episode:

Star Quest Production Network (SQPN)
Catholic New Media Conference (CNMC)
My first experience at the CNMC in 2013 (shy nerd alert!)
Sacred Heart Novena
Follow me on Twitter at @CatholicTiffany

If you've been to a CNMC, or are going *squeals!* do write in and let me know! Also, what are your thoughts regarding online community? Is it as meaningful to you as it is to me? Looking forward to hearing from you. :)

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Thoughts while walking (or driving :))...

The Walk with Fr. Roderick
Hello to you all on this fine spring day! I'm super perky today, which is aided by the fact that I'm wearing a short sleeved top for the first time since September. And it's pink! Life is grand.

As I was driving in to work this morning, I was thinking. You know, about STUFF. I do that a lot. ;-) My little mind is always awhirl while I'm driving or walking by myself. Or when I'm in the shower. :0 Anytime my mind is allowed to wander from the task at hand, it will, it seems. At any rate, in the background I had on Fr. Roderick's The Walk podcast. As you already know, I completely adore that precious Fr. Roderick. I've been listening to his show The Break for, let's see...probably about 6 years now. In that neighborhood of time, at least. When he added in The Walk, I thought maybe it would be duplicated content just targeted at another audience, so perhaps it would be redundant to listen to both. I was wrong, and I happily subscribe to both shows.

The Break has a structure: he talks about current events both in his life and in the news, movies and TV shows, books that he's read, and then a segment that he calls "The Peculiar Bunch," in which he'll address a current Catholic topic. The Walk is totally different. It's complete stream of consciousness as he goes out for a walk to get some exercise. He just brings his audio recorder and chats with his audience about whatever is on his mind during that hour.

I *really* love this format, and I think that part of it is that I relate to it so much. This is pretty much how I write in this blog. :0 I know that there are blogs out there that are more polished and helpful than mine (AKA: better ;-)). And thank goodness for them, because we all benefit from them! But my approach to blogging has always been that this is an online journal that I choose to share with others. Sometimes I plan posts ahead of time, like the Catholic Book Club or the Church Triumphant posts. But usually, I just await inspiration each morning, and then write about that topic, whatever is on my mind in that moment.

And so, this morning I was listening to Father talk about some projects he's working on, and how they're not turning out the way he expected, but that's not necessarily a bad thing, right? God is always working in there. :) And he mentioned how there are so many things he's been able to do that he strove to achieve, but that there are so many others that he'd like to accomplish. As I listened, I related this back to my own life, which is such a pleasing byproduct of this type of informal style. There are LOTS of projects that I've always wanted to try (writing, podcasting...), and yet I often hesitate. I'm worried about...oh, let us count the ways, shall we?

(1) Time. I don't want things to take me away from Mike and the kids too much.

(2) Money. Some projects require a small investment in new equipment, and then I'll shy away from it, which is silly. I buy yarn, dance costumes and books with abandon, why shouldn't I invest in technology that will bring joy and meaning?

(3) Fear of failure. I really should have put this first. ;-) Because this really is a hindrance on me trying new things. Why do you think it took me *years* to work up the nerve to dance solo at a performance? And this is closely related to...

(4) Fear of looking stupid. :0 There it is. I really do fear this. A lot.

But life is short, you know? Not that we should proceed with things full steam ahead without fully thinking them through. But I shouldn't let surmountable fears hold me back so much. So maybe I'll try moving forward on a few projects I've always wanted to try. I'll keep you posted. ;-)

I'm glad that Fr. Roderick's show this week got me to thinking about these things. Do you brainstorm or otherwise wax poetic while you walk or drive? When is your most creative thinking time? Anytime there aren't little voices in the background asking you to assist them with wiping in the bathroom, you say? I can relate to that. :)

Tomorrow will be a DANCE POST! Make sure to head back over if you enjoy such shenanigans.

Friday, January 30, 2015

7 Quick Takes {Take 67} What to look forward to in 2015 edition...


Happy Friday everybody! When I write a post, I like my inspiration to be "fresh," if you will. As in, I contemplate what is on my mind that very morning, and then sometime during the day I write about THAT. It's all very stream of consciousness. :) And so this morning as I struggled to pump gas into my car with snow blowing into my face, I had to use a pump on the opposite side from my fuel tank, and so a little bit of swear language and hose manipulation was involved, and, wait! I don't even care about this anecdote, so why should you?! :0 Anyway, I kept thinking about how excited I am for 2015. There are so many things happening this year that I am so grateful for and anticipating with much eagerness. What are those things? Settle in, dear reader!

-1- My babies!

They're getting big. :) Henry will be 10 in November, a milestone to be sure, and Anne will be 4 in May. I remember 4 being a truly magical age with Henry in which things got a heck of a lot easier. To be honest, they've been easier with Anne already (I've probably just jinxed myself, doh!) and I think it's simply a male/female thing. Girls mature a bit faster than boys. I do so enjoy the squishy baby years, but can I be totally up front? Well, sure, because this is my blog, right? :) I enjoy my kids even more when they are older. I struggled with depression when Henry was a baby and toddler. With Anne I was on the lookout for that, so it was definitely less bad, but it was still there. My kids get older and BAM! No depression. :) So this year feels good, really good. Together with my precious hubby, I'm enjoying my kids (when they're not fighting *groans*) and all feels right with the world.

-2- I feel all included and warm and fuzzy *heart*

Since the Conclave that elected Pope Francis, I've been much more involved in Catholic social media. Mostly Twitter, but other things as well. And, gosh. It is WONDERFUL. I feel a part of a larger community and it is very meaningful to me. These are people I've never met in real life, but yet I feel like I know them. I'm encouraged by them, and I encourage them if they're having a bad day. I find all sort of great ideas and inspiration from them. I knit things for their kids. They are like my extended family in faith, and I think God for them everyday.

-3- My future with this blog here with YOU!

I've been blogging since 2008, but for many years...let's just say not too many people read it. :0 That was fine, that has never been why I keep a blog. Once again, being totally honest here, the reason I blog is for ME. I love to write, it's a creative outlet for me, and that's the reason I continue. If that wasn't the reason, it wouldn't be genuine, you know? However, I would certainly be less inspired if no one read my musings. For years after I started, I was getting hits on my posts, sure, but very few. It's humbling to go back and look at those numbers. :) Now, I get a lot more readers. Granted "a lot" is a very relative description. ;-) This blog isn't exactly in the big time, if you know what I mean. And I doubt that it ever will, which is fine with me. I just enjoy my tiny sliver of the Catholic blogosphere, and the fact that I feel like I know some of you who leave comments fairly regularly, that's just... *tears up!* It's wonderful, and it means so much to me. I can't wait to continue sharing my life with you, and finding new and creative ways to do what I love. And THANK YOU, from the bottom of my heart, for being here.

-4- Catholic New Media Conference/Celebration - Who's with me?!

Back in October of 2013, I wrote about my experiences at the first CNMC that I had ever attended, and I've been a part of the SQPN podcast community for many years, nearly since I started blogging. But I had always backed away from ever leaving feedback for the many shows I listened to or attending the CNMC because, you know, SCARY. Then people I admire will know I exist and may think I'm stupid. :0 But when my sister Shauna'h said that she was going, that gave me the impetus to come out of hiding, and now I'm hooked. It is *fantastic* to meet other enthusiastic Catholics in real life and develop friendships that can then thrive in social media. It's a tremendous boost to my faith and truly, to my happiness. SO. The CNMC 2015 is going to be held June 7th in Atlanta, GA.

WHO ELSE IS GOING?! :0 If you are, I demand (nicely, of course ;-)) that you leave a comment so that we can start plotting fun meet ups. I'm almost certainly going. Registration isn't open yet, but my pre-planning seems to have borne fruit and I can register and make a flight reservation when the time comes. I AM SO EXCITED. I can't wait! Have I mentioned that I'm excited? Are you going?! Let me know!


-5- Getting older. I mean it! Kinda ;-)

There are obviously disadvantages to getting older. We're all familiar with them, no need to rehash. ;-) But there are also advantages. And one of those is confidence in the things that you enjoy, and a deep sense of appreciation for them. I'm turning 40 this year, and instead of bemoaning that as the beginning of the end of my life, I see my life as being in its prime right now. And for the next...long, long time, no need to examine that any further. :0 Hey! 40 is the new 20 after all. At least that's what all of my old friends from high school are saying on Facebook....

But speaking of getting older, I got my new glasses!

This is my librarian look...
 I look happy and content, yes? Good. Because I am. :)

-6- 7 years of growing into something I NEVER could have pictured myself doing back when I was voted "Shyest" in my senior class...

And finally, we circle back to dance. I've always been a shy person, always. And when I started dancing again in my early 30's, I was doing it for fun and exercise, nothing more. When Claire, my beloved teacher, would talk about her performance group, I would think to myself:

"Good heavens, they dance in PUBLIC? Glad that'll never be me."

Yeah, well, all these years later...it's ME! :0

Between sets at an arts festival, July 2014, because who doesn't need a swooning picture? :)
Middle Eastern dance has given me inspiration and confidence, and a wonderful circle of friends, and so, so much more. I love it. We have a hafla on May 2nd, and more festival fun this summer, and at 40 years old? Pshaw! That's infancy for a belly dancer. :0 My best years are still ahead! Have I mentioned how much I love it?

I don't have a 7th take this week. Some weeks are just like that. :0

This was a fun post to write! And there are more 7 Quick Takes over at This Ain't the Lyceum, go ahead and see. :) Talk to you all on Monday!

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Catholic New Media Conference 2013 - I'm still glowing

I'm home and I'm still all floaty. I don't even know where to begin really to talk about my trip, except to say that I'm so very, very grateful that I had the opportunity to go, and I recommend it to anybody else who values sharing their faith via new media in the way that I do. AND, it provides a friendly and happy atmosphere in which to meet fellow Catholics. YOU, gentle reader, should go next year. You'll learn a lot, and we can schmooze over wine in the evening, it's a win/win, trust me. Ok, I suppose I should just start from the beginning.

I traveled to Boson early Saturday morning with my sister, Shauna'h. We drove down from Maine, her state of residence, and arrived at the Pastoral Center for the Archdiocese of Boson right before the 8 am opening Mass. We checked in, we fixed our hair, we twittered about, we did all that girl stuff. We felt anxious, since we didn't know anybody else but each other. We filed into the chapel.

Lovely, yes? A very prayerful environment, just a beautiful Mass. And thereupon we had our first Fr. Roderick sighting.


*squeals!*

I adore Fr. Roderick. I have listened to his podcast and many others from his Star Quest Production Network for years. I am just a huge fan of his down-to-earth, jovial style. And now I would finally get to meet him in person, after listening to his show and feeling a part of his life and ministry for years. It was enough to make a Catholic girl very, very happy. Shauna'h (a fellow Fr. Roderick fan) and I plotted how we would corner him and make him pose for a photograph with us, but we'll get back to that in a moment. :)

First, we had the keynote speaker for the conference, who was Monsignor Paul Tighe, secretary of the Pontifical Council for Social Communications.


He was *excellent* and a recording of his presentation is up on the SQPN site right now. He was articulate and engaging (and an Irish accent always helps, let me tell you) and his insider view of Pope Francis's social media presence was just riveting. An AWESOME way to start off the conference.

Next, I attended a blogging session while Shauna'h went to a talk on Pope Francis. And can I tell you, I *loved* live Tweeting. It was such a novelty to me to be able to pull out my tablet and Tweet to my little heart's content all while that not being considered rude.


I was in heaven. And the blogging session was great. We talked about some tips for increasing your readership and how *relationship* between blog writer and blog reader is so key. I happily took notes and live Tweeted important tidbits the entire time. After that, Shauna'h and I together attended a retreat-like presentation on the role of Mary, Star of the New Evangelization, in our lives and ministries.

Pretty soon it was time for lunch. By this point, I had a happy buzz going from everything that I was learning, but Shauna'h and I hadn't really met anyone yet because we were being #introverts. This is a genetic condition, apparently. But I didn't really know how to break the ice on this one. I was feeling like I wanted to be more social, and my live Tweeting garnered me some new happy Twitter followers, but I needed to actually talk to people face-to-face. That's a lot harder. :0

We ate our sandwiches and wandered out into the hallway. We stumbled happily upon some book giveaways and other opportunities to purchase:

And here's where things get *really* fun. As we formed a little gaggle out in the hallway, Fr. Roderick crossed our path on his way to sign copies of his book, Geekpriest. I have already read his (excellent, and funny) book as a reviewer, but I wanted an official personalized copy, so Shauna'h and I were hovering near the book signing table. We overheard Father saying that he was hoping to find someone to take a photo of him with a friend holding light sabers, since that is the pose he is striking on the cover of his book. We pounced.

Next thing you knew, Shauna'h was using Fr. Roderick's iPhone to snap photos of him, and then it was pretty easy to segue into this:

And this:

I mean, DID YOU EVER?!

As Shauna'h and I stood nearby waiting for Father to sign our books, I remarked that we are pretty much Fr. Roderick groupies. And we weren't alone. A little line formed to snake around the table, awaiting Fr. Roderick autographs. Meanwhile, Father was unassumedly crafting personalized missives to write into each book, and when someone gently tapped his shoulder to let him know that the line had lengthened, he nearly jumped out of his chair in shock. Could the man get more precious? I mean, I didn't really think it was possible for him to be even more charming in person than he is on his podcast. I was, however, quite wrong.

My rock star moment
I was just elated. I came down from Cloud Nine long enough to attend a session on using new media to converse with inactive Catholics, and a moderated panel discussion. All too soon, we were attending the final prayer service and Eucharistic Adoration, and then heading to our hotel. I felt jam packed with useful new information, and inspired to put it into practice. But I still wanted to socialize.

We had met Fr. Roderick, a real coup, but I really wanted to come out of my shell and meet some other new people as well. Shauna'h and I decided to dine down in the hotel bar to see if we ran into anybody from the conference.

*blissful sigh*

We did. We met a bunch of people from the Catholic Weekend podcast, Maria Johnson, Billy Newton and Sarah Vabulas. All super nice. They all remembered me from Twitter.

:0

The Catholic Librarian was very, very happy about this, I assure you. Afterwards, Shauna'h and I went over to the official Tweetup, which was at a Dave & Buster's.

Oy.

The location was described to me as a "Chuck E. Cheese for grown ups" which I have to say is not only an unflattering description, it is an accurate one. Very difficult to converse there, since it is so loud, and not a lot of space to gather given the set up. At first, Shauna'h and I sat at the bar and had a drink, hoping for things to clear out a bit so that we could do a social approach of the SQPN Tweetup crowd. No easy feat, let me tell you. There just wasn't a lot of room to move. Eventually, we finished our drinks and moved over to say goodbye to everyone. They were all quite gracious, and we got to speak to Fr. Roderick for another minute or so. Then we bumped into Jeff Nielsen, the host of Catholic Weekend, and ended up chatting with him for about 15 minutes. A very kind and funny person, he rather made our night. We went back to the hotel feeling very happy that we had extended our introverted selves and introduced ourselves to some wonderful people.

The next morning, Shauna'h and I attended Mass before heading back to Maine. It all went by so fast, I'm terribly sad that it's already over. I am, however, SO glad that I went, and I plan to attend again so that I can learn more and keep up with some of the connections that I made. They were live streaming Catholic Weekend while we were there, and were looking for conference attendees to join in. Jeff assures me that next year he wants me to come over and be on. :0 There is nothing I hate more than hearing my own voice, but I suppose stranger things have happened.

So now I'm trying (somewhat unsuccessfully, I forgot at least 3 things this morning) to get back into my regular routine after such a special weekend. I feel very blessed and inspired. I will keep you all posted when plans for CNMC 2014 are announced, and I'm serious, I WANT YOU ALL TO GO.

I'll buy you a drink! Seriously, how can you not go now?!